Jonathan Monaghan, French Penguin

Juried by: Kelly Gordon, Associate Curator, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden 

Participating Artists: Stephen Ausherman (US), Stephanie Barber (US), Bret Battey (UK ), Patrick Bergeron (CA), Manuella Blackburn (UK), Aaron Bowles (US), Lin Culbertson (US), Robert Ladislas Derr (US), Nhieu Do (US), Brian Evans (US), Harvey Goldman (US), Lee Henderson (CA), Janne Holtermann (DE), Daniel Iglesia (US), Ben McCormick (US), Karl J. Mendonca (US), Jonathan Monaghan (US), Neil Ira Needleman (US), Julia Oldham (US), Kala Pierson (US), Maria Pithara (US), Gerard Freixes Ribera (ES), Stefan Riebel (DE), Alberto Roblest (US), Jack Dingo Ryan (US), Eldad Tsabary (CA) & Robert Voisey (US), Jessica Westbrook (US)

Since 2006, the Experimental Media Series has showcased the talents of artists working in sound and video art. 2009’s selection of finalists’ works presented the leading edge in electronic media works. The most compelling entries, as selected by the juror Kelly Gordon, Associate Curator of the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, and based on overall quality and innovation, were awarded the Kraft Prize for New Media and the WPA Experimental Art Prize, two cash prizes of $750 each, that were presented on October 1 at The Phillips Collection.

Kraft Media Prize Winner: Patrick Bergeron, LoopLoop

WPA Experimental Media Prize Winner: Jonathan Monaghan, French Penguin  


September 24 - October 15, 2009

September 24 and October 1, 2009, 6:30 - 8:15 pm

October 13 and 14, 2009, 7:00 - 9:00 pm

October 15, 2009, 8:00 - 9:30 pm


September 24 and October 1, 2009: The Phillips Collection, 1600 21st Street, NW, Washington, DC, 20009

October 13 and 14, 2009: Maryland Institute College of Art, Falvey Hall, 1301 W. Mount Royal Ave, Baltimore, MD 21217

October 15, 2009: Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, 7th Street and Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20013