Juried by: Max Kazemzadeh

Experimental Media 2012 explored recent developments in the field of art and technology through three separate, yet related platforms: an exhibition component, a video screening program, and a workshop series. While highlighting the creative potential of new technologies, Experimental Media 2012 also explored the broader social and cultural implications of these rapid changes. Experimental Media 2012 was organized by Washington Project for the Arts, in partnership with Artisphere, and built on WPA’s annual Experimental Media Series program, begun in 2006.  

Juried by: Max Kazemzadeh, Assistant Professor of Media Art & Technology, Gallaudet University and Jonah Brucker-Cohen, Assistant Professor at Parsons MFA in Design and Technology and Parsons School of Art, Design, History, and Theory

Participating artists:  Angie Eng (Brooklyn, NY), Benjamin Gaulon (Dublin, Ireland), Jayson Haebich (Collingwood, Australia), Michelle Lisa Herman (Washington, DC), Faith Holland (New York, NY), Patrick Jean (Paris, France), James Jones (Christiansburg, VA), Shahar Marcus (Tel Aviv, Israel), Alexander Pawlik (Warsaw, Poland), Nataliya Petkova (Quebec, Canada), Bill Psarras (London, UK), Sergio Sotomayor (Murcia, Spain), Dafna Steinberg (Washington, DC), Bob Szantyr (New York, NY), Cinnamon Triano (Baltimore, MD), Danny Warner (Manhattan, KS), Peter Whittenberger (Reno, NV), and Cameron Zotter (Baltimore, MD).

Featuring video work by local, national, and international artists, the Experimental Media Video Screenings included works that use video as a medium to explore our contemporary landscape of data flow, perception, and exchange between systems, whether human, gestural, cultural, chemical, political, or virtual. Angie Eng was awarded the 2012 Kraft Prize for New Media, a $750 cash prize.

latest jordan Sneakersnike fashion


April 26, 2012:
The Phillips Collection
1600 21st Street NW
Washington, DC 20009

May 10, 2012:
1101 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22209


April 26, 2012, 6:30pm
May 10, 2012, 6:30pm